• jimolson
  • jimolson's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts 1
  • Thank you received: 0

Hello! Diane from Indiana here...... was created by jimolson

Diane,

Hello from another non-functioning adenoma patient in Indianapolis, albeit 2 years behind you!

I'm a 66 y/o male whose adenoma was discovered in 2015 exactly like yours: by way of a neck MRI looking for spinal stenosis. Dr. Carl Sartorius at Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine announced that I was a candidate for disk fusion but that surgery to correct it might need to take a back seat to studying a peculiar 3.5cm blob growing behind my eyes. "I'm a spine doctor, but my partner, Dr. Troy Payner (skull base neurosurgeon), will know what that blob is and how to deal with it...".

Dr. Payner guided me through 2 years of watchful waiting, an interval that included developing a relationship with Indiana's best endocrinologist, Catherine Bain, MD. Bain prescribed a series of blood tests that "typed" my tumor and assessed the extent of my hypopituitarism. She put me on meds that within days had me feeling 100% better. The skeletal aches and pains and malaise that made it hard to get out of bed disappeared quickly after the meds began.

I was never enthusiastic about Payner's watchful waiting game plan. I knew that I was facing (eventually) serious skull base surgery to remove the adenoma, and I wasn't getting any younger. To some extent I was putting my life on hold waiting for this surgery. Would I recover post-surgery to resume my job as an electrical engineer? Would medical expenses deplete my retirement savings? All of these things prompted me to want the tumor out immediately.