× Tell us about your journey

Living With Secondary Adrenal Insufficiency

• Posts 33
  • Thank you received: 1

Replied by carolk on topic Living With Secondary Adrenal Insufficiency

I am not a medical professional, but in your situation, you need an experienced endocrinologist that specializes in pituitary medicine. With the MRI showing your pituitary being small, your doctor will probably check your other pituitary hormones as well.

Cortisol replacement dosing is tricky because every body is different and metabolizes cortisol based on your body's circadian rhythm. Most replacement dosing is split 2 times per day. If your body's metabolizing it at a faster rate, it would make sense that you will be experiencing low cortisol symptoms. Start keeping a journal of your symptoms with the date and time they are happening and bring your journal with you to your doctor visits so he/she can understand what's really going on and can make dosing decisions accordingly. 

The PNA moderates a closed Facebook pituitary patient support group. Once you join and are approved your post will only be seen by members of the group. In Facebook search for: "Pituitary Network Support Group".

A second opinion never hurts. Here is a list of PNA's known pituitary physicians. You can search for one in your area or nearby. 
https://pituitary.org/medical-resources/physicians

Here is a list of PNA's known hospitals that treat pituitary patients. You can search for one in your area or nearby:

https://pituitary.org/medical-resources/hospitals

Best wishes on your journey!
2 weeks 1 day ago #10798

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• moonunit0103
  • moonunit0103's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts 1
  • Thank you received: 0

Living With Secondary Adrenal Insufficiency was created by moonunit0103

Hi,